The NBA Draft is a yearly event in NBA. This event was started in 1947 to the purpose of drafting new NBA players who are eligible and willing to join the organization. Most of them are college players who are already eligible but there are some foreign players also or what we call them international players. Only International players who are eligible and above 23 years old are allowed in the draft. If an International player is still under 22 years old, then he should declare his eligibility first for him to join. The NBA Draft usually happens on the 3rd week of June after the NBA Finals and is consisted of two rounds.

NBA Draft

High School players were also eligible to join the draft before but the rules were changed in 2006. They were not allowed to enter the draft after they graduated in high school. They s
till have to wait for 1 year after their graduation and should be 19 years old as of the end of the calendar year of the draft. If these rules were already implemented before, players like Lebron James, Kobe Bryant, Dwight Howard and Amar’e Stoudemire will really face a big problem on joining the NBA draft. Because these players joined the NBA draft at the age of 18.

How NBA Draft Lottery Works

NBA Draft Lottery is a process made to determine the order of the teams in the draft. The draft lottery is only open for the teams who missed the playoffs in the previous season. The winner will take the 1st draft and so on. Only the first three picks are determined in the lottery process. The remaining first round picks are determined based on the win-loss record. The second round draft is not determined through the lottery.

NBA Draft 2

List of Number 1 Draft Picks in NBA from 1947 to 2015

2015 Karl-Anthony Towns Minnesota Timberwolves
2014 Andrew Wiggins Cleveland Cavaliers
2013 Anthony Bennett Cleveland Cavaliers
2012 Anthony Davis New Orleans Hornets
2011 Kyrie Irving Cleveland Cavaliers
2010 John Wall Washington Wizards
2009 Blake Griffin Los Angeles Clippers
2008 Derrick Rose Chicago Bulls
2007 Greg Oden Portland Trail Blazers
2006 Andrea Bargnani Toronto Raptors
2005 Andrew Bogut Milwaukee Bucks
2004 Dwight Howard Orlando Magic
2003 LeBron James Cleveland Cavaliers
2002 Yao Ming Houston Rockets
2001 Kwame Brown Washington Wizards
2000 Kenyon Martin New Jersey Nets
1999 Elton Brand Chicago Bulls
1998 Michael Olowokandi Los Angeles Clippers
1997 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
1996 Allen Iverson Philadelphia 76ers
1995 Joe Smith Golden State Warriors
1994 Glenn Robinson Milwaukee Bucks
1993 Chris Webber Orlando Magic
1992 Shaquille O’Neal Orlando Magic
1991 Larry Johnson Charlotte Hornets
1990 Derrick Coleman New Jersey Nets
1989 Pervis Ellison Sacramento Kings
1988 Danny Manning Los Angeles Clippers
1987 David Robinson San Antonio Spurs
1986 Brad Daugherty Cleveland Cavaliers
1985 Patrick Ewing New York Knicks
1984 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1983 Ralph Sampson Houston Rockets
1982 James Worthy Los Angeles Lakers
1981 Mark Aguirre Dallas Mavericks
1980 Joe Barry Carroll Golden State Warriors
1979 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1978 Mychal Thompson Portland Trail Blazers
1977 Kent Benson Milwaukee Bucks
1976 John Lucas Houston Rockets
1975 David Thompson Atlanta Hawks
1974 Bill Walton Portland Trail Blazers
1973 Doug Collins Philadelphia 76ers
1972 LaRue Martin Portland Trail Blazers
1971 Austin Carr Cleveland Cavaliers
1970 Bob Lanier Detroit Pistons
1969 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Milwaukee Bucks
1968 Elvin Hayes San Diego Rockets
1967 Jimmy Walker Detroit Pistons
1966 Cazzie Russell New York Knicks
1965 Fred Hetzel San Francisco Warriors
1964 Jim Barnes New York Knicks
1963 Art Heyman New York Knicks
1962 Bill McGill Chicago Zephyrs
1961 Walt Bellamy Chicago Packers
1960 Oscar Robertson Cincinnati Royals
1959 Bob Boozer Cincinnati Royals
1958 Elgin Baylor Minneapolis Lakers
1957 Hot Rod Hundley Cincinnati Royals
1956 Si Green Rochester Royals
1955 Dick Ricketts St. Louis Hawks
1954 Frank Selvy Baltimore Bullets (1st)
1953 Ray Felix Baltimore Bullets (1st)
1952 Mark Workman Milwaukee Hawks
1951 Gene Melchiorre Baltimore Bullets (1st)
1950 Chuck Share Boston Celtics
1949 Howie Shannon Providence Steam Rollers
1948 Andy Tonkovich Providence Steam Rollers
1947 Clifton McNeeley

Pittsburgh Ironmen